Stephenie Meyer on… hand holding?

The following post is to give some indication of what I believe has been misinformation and distortion regarding The Twilight Saga.  In Time Magazine’s article which ran April 24th of this year entitled Stephenie Meyer: A New J.K. Rowling?, it was mentioned that Meyer is a Mormon who has never viewed an R rated movie.  I think this is meant to convey a certain sense of innocence.  The author of the article then adds this information on the books themselves:

“Certainly some of their appeal lies in their fine moral hygiene: they’re an alternative to the hookup scene, Gossip Girls for good girls. There’s no drinking or smoking in Twilight, and Bella and Edward do little more than kiss. “I get some pressure to put a big sex scene in,” Meyer says. “But you can go anywhere for graphic sex. It’s harder to find a romance where they dwell on the hand-holding. I was a late bloomer. When I was 16, holding hands was just–wow.”  
Knowing what is in these books, I’m trying to wrap my mind round how she can say this.  
1 Comment

  1. “Knowing what is in these books, I’m trying to wrap my mind round how she can say this.” Fundies DO tend to have problems with that.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

