Interview with “Edward” – Robert Pattinson

For those of you who keep arguing that this is just “harmless” and don’t know what the big deal is – WAKE UP!  Here is some (unintentional) proof that something is rotten in the state of Denmark…

 

“How is the Twilight fandom is different from the Harry Potter movies? I think you’ve mentioned that the sound of the screams is even different.
It’s different because I think it’s almost solely females of a certain age group, and they have a very specific tone. It’s much more to do with the sort of sexuality aspect of it. So many girls made this guy [their ideal], so when they see you it’s like all of their energy is projected onto you. It’s a really strange experience. I’ve never been in an experience where people just want to touch you — it’s like being in a boy band.

Is it weird to have girls that are so young have this incredibly sexualized thing around you?
It’s weird that you get 8-year-old girls coming up to you saying, “Can you just bite me? I want you to bite me.” It is really strange how young the girls are, considering the book is based on the virtues of chastity, but I think it has the opposite effect on its readers though. [Laughs]

Do you think that’s part of it, though? One of the things that seems to make Edward so attractive to younger girls is that you can have it both ways. He’s the ultimate bad boy, and someone that you shouldn’t want, who would never harm you.

That’s exactly what it is. It’s a certain type of girl. I don’t know what it is — when you look at fan sites [you can tell] — but there’s definitely a very large fleet of people, it’s actually Americans, that want those type of guys…”

(This is from an interview with Rolling Stone -www.rollingstone.com)
FOLKS – this is not a book about chastity!  Chaste books don’t do this to little girls.  THAT is why it is having the effect that it is having. 

NEW POST 12/27: IMPORTANT: Do girls need “fantasy”?

18 Comments

  1. […] Interview with “Edward” – Robert Pattinson […]

  2. Ummm…. No. Sorry. Harry Potter still beats out Twilight in terms of obssessivness (probably not a title to compete for). Seriously. As of now, fanfiction.net has over 7.5 times as many Harry Potter fanfics posted, and 16 times as many that have reached over a hundred thousand words.

    Which actually does sort of have a point. While most people don’t realize this, the hard core Harry Potter fandom has a very high boy to girl ratio.

    Not as high as Twilight, perhaps, but still. At least 15 to 1, by my estimate, at least.

    Being a fangirl is in the word itself – the word fanboy doesn’t exist.

    And WHO gives their 8 year old daughter Twilight to read? I’m refusing to allow my 10-year-old sister to read it, until she’s at least twelve. I mean, when you’re that young can seriously tramautize you. Sirius’s death (Harry Potter), when I was 10, had me crying for like two weeks, and in denial for two years (no, that’s I lie, I never got over him. I found fanfiction and continue to delude myself that he’s still alive).

    Anyway, I’ll admit that anyone under the age of 12 shouldn’t be allowed to read this book. Even if they’re really mature and stuff, they’re just not old enough.

  3. i love you so much rob ! love me too ! 🙂

  4. This interview disproves the claims of Catholic and Christian reviewers that “Twilight” upholds the virture of chastity. It’s the opposite, by claiming that Edward and Bella are chaste, while whipping these girls into a sexual frenzy, it is very cynical indeed. And dangerous.
    Maybe you won’t give this book to your little sister, but can you be sure no one else will?

  5. You’re totally reading into this the wrong way. Twilight is in so many ways realistic to chastity. Do you honestly think that just because people might choose to abstain from sex means they don’t still want it? Sex is normal. It is a great thing to choose to wait until marriage. I completely believe that and follow that. However, it is normal to have desire for it. These books/films show how self control is important and maintain reality by showing it’s hard to do. Maybe some young girls shouldn’t be reading it but if they were being educated well by their parents it wouldn’t make such a difference. My 10 year old cousin has seen the film and started reading the books and she’s fine. There’s just got to be an understanding of what it means to be chaste and how hard it actually is.

  6. Dear Jessica –
    You are correct – it IS really difficult to be chaste. That is why we have a duty to avoid temptation. I don’t think Edward and Bella do that. Also – I don’t think those who read the books do it either. Reading the descriptions of the encounters between Edward/Bella and Jacob/Bella can lead to internal sins against chastity (meaning impure thoughts in the mind).
    Do you see that?

  7. It’s not about avoiding temptation so much as resisting the temptation that is part of a normal life. Temptation is often unavoidable. It isn’t a sin to be tempted, only giving into the temptation. To desire somebody isn’t a sin, it’s natural. But to dwell on those thoughts and make up some elicit fantasy in the mind would be…like you said, impure thoughts in the mind. But the relationship between Edward and Bella, whilst clearly full of desire, is also full of restraint and immense self control. And they love each other, so it’s only expected that sex is going to be an issue for them. The intense relationship portrayed in the books is more about how much they love each other and need each other. Each lingering kiss or touch shows much more than just a physical desire, they show Edward’s desperation at the situation they are in and just how much he needs to be with her, to love and protect her. It’s actually really beautiful. Maybe that’s why some girls are getting so wrapped up in this story. Maybe it’s not ideal (Edward being a vampire and all!) but it’s a love story nonetheless and with the correct understanding doesn’t need to cause harm.

  8. Please don’t try to put in Christian ideals into this story. I found it a bit strange that he can be the undead but not have sex until marriage. Having said that, I thought it was a beautiful story and a great way for young teen girls to be introduced to writing that has more sensuality. It was incredibly erotic without any filth. The love (other than the undead part) was sweet, sensual, sexy, and way more erotic than romance novels teen girls have read for years.

  9. I was totally turned off by the fact that the books were aimed toward young girls.. i am 26 yrs old and even for me.. its really sexy!! but had i read this book when i was 16, it might have really affected me in a negative kinda way.. like.. me looking and searching for that love experience.

    Now that i am older.. i realize that its fiction and NO one man could be like edward. i mean.. its nice to imagine, but thats all it is, a fantasy, a wonderful, beautiful fantasy, A MATURE Fantasy of a perfect relationship. I would never let my child read this.. even at 18.. its just tooooo sexy.

  10. Just wanted to throw in my $0.02 here….

    As a big sister and Christian, I find the Twilight saga both laughable and appalling. Laughable because the writing is terrible, the characterization is worse, and every time I think of Sparkle!Edward saying “THIS IS THE SKIN OF A KILLER!!” I have to grin. Appalling because of the messages this saga contains and presents as innocent–especially how it portrays true love. (Or, as an Impressive Clergyman might put it, “twu wuv.”)

    One of my favorite love songs is “Your Guardian Angel” by the Red Jumpsuit Apparatus. The chorus goes like this:

    I will never let you fall
    I’ll stand up with you forever
    I’ll be there for you through it all
    Even if saving you sends me to Heaven.

    To me, that’s what true love means. It’s the kind of love Christ demonstrated–both in his life and on the cross. Now tell me: How does Edward demonstrate this? Is anything he does completely unselfish? He puts himself in temptation over and over again, hanging around Bella even though he really wants to eat her (Sign of an unhealthy relationship #29: Your significant other wants to eat you), watches her while she sleeps….all for his own gratification.

    That’s not unselfish, people. That’s the most parasitic love there is.

  11. I have read the Twilight series more than once I might add. I have a lot of religious background and am not naive about all the issues that it presents to Catholic parents. I read the books to prove to my daughters that they were evil.
    However, I think that is a simplistic answer. Number one, the whole story exists because of the patriach Carlilse, and his Christian life prior to being attacked by a vampire. He spends 200 years or more working on self denial and self control, trying to find others to live with the values he has for the sancitiy of human life. He also practices the virtue of hope and trusts that if he lives a good and noble life that he may recieve mercy at the last judgement. This in itself is a powerful message to reflect on with teens and the many fans of Twilight. Something I don’t see promoted but it is throughout every book like a constant thread.

  12. As an 18 year old Christian, who has read the books multiple times, I think anyone who thinks that Twilight is an evil book seriously needs to grow up and look around. Girls today are faced with temptation after temptation in their daily lives! To keep them from these temptations would be absolutely impossible. Twilight is a fictional story that shows temptation, so what? There is plenty of other and much worse garbage these girls could be reading. And Stephanie Meyer is a believer herself, from what I hear. So to say that a modern day Romeo Juliet story, of forbidden love is evil is just stupid.

  13. I join this discussion late, which I regret immensely. However, I feel the need to point out that “Romeo and Juliet” was not . . . really really it was not . . . a love story. It was a war story. It was a story about rival families. Romeo and Juliet as characters were mere devices to drive the story. The “love story” as we understand it today did not exist in Shakespeare’s world.

    As to whether the books are evil or not, I’m of the opinion that the books are misguided. I’ve read them all multiple times for the express purpose of arguing against some of the most common arguments in favor of the series. Following are a few of the arguments I’ve participated in regarding various views of the characters in the books.

    First, Bella is not a strong female character, which in my mind is problematic. As developed, Bella’s character is a mess. On the one hand she’s described as selfless when it comes to those for whom she cares. The first time i read the words “I’d rather die than stay away from you” I thought my head was going to explode from the automatic denial of that sentiment. No one ever taught her self-worth and self-respect? On further reading, I determined that she is in essence, a weak-willed, selfish, manipulative girl. She’s not exactly the kind of role model the average teen girl needs.

    Second, a careful reading of the books will actually show that Bella spends the best part of two books trying to compromise Edward, and Edward is the one resisting. Yet another strike against Bella as role-model.

    Third, and I think this was mentioned briefly above, Edward can be read as a controlling and abusive boyfriend, not to mention the amount of stalking he does before he ever has a conversation of any length with Bella. I wonder how many girls would actually think it was attractive to find out that some guy had been sneaking into their rooms and watching them sleep. That’s just creepy.

    Fourth, the book does not illustrate how healthy relationships between people work and how one copes when a relationship ends. I’ve determined that this references the lack of self-worth that is part of the Bella character. Most girls who ever dated as teens have been broken up with by some guy. I’ve wondered how many of them were rendered catatonic for three months as a result. I know in my personal experience I’ve never known anyone who behaved as Bella did. Just an observation, but the most common reaction to the ending of a relationship, once the pain passes anyway, is anger and then acceptance.

    Finally, it’s disturbing to me that readers see obsession as love. Love is supposed to be selfless, asking nothing. That’s not what you get in this series. You get a manipulative girl doing whatever it takes no matter how dangerous or damaging to those around her in pursuit of the object of her obsession.

    All of that being said, I would never allow my child to read the books without supervision. I wouldn’t keep it from her, as i believe that forbidding a book makes it all the more enticing, but I would want to have teaching moments with her. People need to read whatever it is they read critically filtering the written word through their belief system recognizing and rejecting that which does not work within their beliefs. And, the only way a child learns to read that way is if she is taught to read that way.

  14. Mary, I really appreciate your comment about Romeo and Juliet. I do think that it helps to understand parts of the story better to look at it as a war story.

    I am curious though about your criticisms about the Twilight books. Bella is not a strong enough character for you, Edward “can be read as controlling”, The books do not show how to have a good break up. So, what books do you recommend that meet all of your criteria? This is a serious question. I have repeatedly asked people who disapprove of the Twilight books what books they would recommend, and I have not had any books recommended which do not have any faults. I am still looking.

  15. Rebecca, All books have faults. Twilight just has an inordinate number of them. Meyer had multiple opportunities to do really wonderful things with her characters, and she missed them. I think the concept for Twilight is really intriguing. It was simply poorly executed. I make no religious value judgments regarding the series. I pretty much simply read them through a deconstructionist lens. There are over riding themes in the book, which had they been properly handled, could have sent really powerful positive messages. For instance, the idea that you let someone go because it is better for them to not have you in their life. Recognizing that, doing it, the absolute self-sacrifice that that action takes is huge. But, he changed his mind and came back, because he couldn’t sustain the sacrifice. Or, the notion that there are consequences to actions, there were multiple places where there should have been consequences, but there never were any. I’m not an impassioned Meyer hater. I don’t think she set out to create some horrible influence on youth. I think she needed better editing and a bit of direction.

    As to titles that might be a bit healthier reading for the vulnerable teen, and I do know that all teens are not created equal, a number come to mind, but I need to do a quick read of them before I post them as absolutely better. That will be my homework, and I promise to post them as soon as I determine that I won’t be lying to say that they have better examples of relationships and interactions.

  16. Rebecca, I raided my 17 year old daughter’s bookcases. She tells me she only keeps the titles that she deems worth a second read, so below are her picks for books that have better and more realistic examples of teenage relationships. I had read most of them already, and the couple that I hadn’t read were really very good. Of course, I trust my daughter’s taste in books, mostly. Her reading of Twilight was not without incident and exclamation . . . when Edward returned in New Moon, she threw the book across the room, disgusted with Bella. That was a non sequitor, but watching her learn and grow makes my heart smile as much now as it did when she was a baby, which is entirely too mushy and sentimental for her. We read Twilight together and talked extensively about what choices might have been better for the three main characters and what consequences might have realistically been expected in those instances where there were none.

    Grace’s reading list:

    Alice in Lace by Phyllis Reynolds Naylor

    Beyond the Western Sea by Avi

    Johnny Voodoo by Dakota Lane

    The Face on the Milk Carton . . . plus its companion books by Caroline B. Cooney

    Contents Under Pressure by Lara M. Zeises

    Bringing Up the Bones by Lara M. Zeises

    Fighting the Current by Heather Waldorf

    Fault Line by Janet Tashjian

    I’m aware of the fault that can be found in each of these books. The purpose of this exercise, however, was to find books that depict relationships and human interaction in a way that is more realistic and where characters eventually come to more healthy places. In other words, books where the characters actually develop and are different on the last page than they were on the first. If you read as avidly as my daughter does, it’s likely you’ve already encountered most of these.

  17. As a 23 year old, Catholic Christian and Twilight fan, I have to throw my 2 cents in here. It was only after reading all the books that I came upon the discussion of whether or not Twilight was pro-chastity, pro-Christian, etc. While I was reading the series, I never thought that “Wow, this is so anti-Christian!” or “Wow, this is so pro-Christian!” I didn’t think one way or the other. I just thought it was a beautiful love story between two people who really love each other, for much more than just physical need. Often times, throughout the series, Edward tells Bella that he vows to protect her from harm, as well as protecting her virtue! Now, one critic might come back and say to me “well, why does it seem that they are always together and doing something physical?”…well people, its temptation! Temptation is a real, alive thing that exists in the world beyond Twilight! And Edward, understands that and understands that is what is in Bella’s mind and he is the one to tell her to calm down and stop….because he wants to protect her and preserve her soul! For all of those who say they’ve read the books and still disapprove…why would you miss this? It is there…plain and clear. Her soul is the most important thing to Edward, the protection of it. He loves her enough, to resist the temptation that both of them are under, and not have sex with her until they married. This is his number #1 reason and if you didn’t see that in the books, than I am afraid you might want to go back and read it over. I think that Stephenie Meyer understood the attraction of temptation and tried to show a way to resist it, get through it, and realize that you can have a relationship that does not need sex. Also, the fact that they don’t have sex until marriage is because Edward is protecting Bella’s soul for Heaven!!! He says that plain and simple. Yes, Edward does spending the night in Bella’s room several times only because he is protecting her from other evils that could harm her. Most times, when she wakes up, Edward is sitting on the rocking chair in her room. He never takes advantage of her, when she is vulnerable, which could be very easily done by a vampire. But Edward loves Bella for everything that she is…and mostly inside, instead of her physicality.
    Personally, as a Catholic Christian, I find Edward to be flawed in some aspects, but a male character with intergity who loves his girl and would do anything for her…even keep himself in control of his burning desire and temptation’s. We all face temptation but it is how we resist and keep them in control that speaks to our faith. And from what I read, Edward does that. I think it is very unfair to place Robert Pattinson, the actor who plays Edward, in this capacity. He is a young actor, dealing with millions of screaming fans wherever he goes. Edward is a desirable character for the gentlemanly way and absolutely beautiful way which he loves Bella. Most girls I know who have read Twilight, love Edward for this reason, not because we fantasize about having him to ourselves. Do I think young girls should read Twilight? No. It is not a teenage book, it is more of an young adult book – but that is where parent’s come in. I don’t say this because of the sexuality or “anti-Christian” claims, I say because it deals with violence, murder, etc. with graphic details that are not suitable for young girls.
    To conclude, as a young adult Christian, I do not feel like I have been tempted or changed, in a negative way, from reading the Twilight books. My faith has not changed and I don’t see how one book series can do that. I say that if a person is greatly altered after reading this series that there is more there than just reading Twilight. Stephenie Meyer never came out and said that Twilight was written to be “pro-Christian” and “pro-chastity” and it needs to be stopped read with that intention in mind. These books are just books. It is a story that never claimed to be more than a vampire love story. And if as a Christian, you don’t want your children reading Twilight, fine. Just pleasing stop spreading this misguided message of Edward being some lustful, tempting character when in fact, he is quite the opposite.

  18. For those of you who call yourselves christians and still believe Twilight is pro chastity, i got something to say to you. Shame on you people for deceiving young minds. Read your bible.
    As for @manda:
    “As an 18 year old Christian, who has read the books multiple times, I think anyone who thinks that Twilight is an evil book seriously needs to grow up and look around. Girls today are faced with temptation after temptation in their daily lives! To keep them from these temptations would be absolutely impossible. Twilight is a fictional story that shows temptation, so what? There is plenty of other and much worse garbage these girls could be reading. And Stephanie Meyer is a believer herself, from what I hear. So to say that a modern day Romeo Juliet story, of forbidden love is evil is just stupid.”

    So what are you saying Manda? You probably work for Nike if you live after their motto: “Just do it!” Didn’t God commands us to fight the good fight of faith? Shouldn’t we all live our lives through the faith in Christ alone? And if we do, shouldn’t this faith have the power to overcome any and all temptations we all face everyday? Nobody is perfect, but everybody can be, by living through Jesus Christ. If you’re saying that this generation and the ones to come, shall give in and give up before devil’s tricks and strategies….I must tell you that you’re terribly wrong. You say: “To keep them from these temptations would be absolutely impossible.”, but the Bible mentions in Luke 1:37: “For nothing is impossible with God.” If we don’t keep fighting against temptations…then…wouldn’t this fight have been already lost, along with our souls? Just think about it. Living up to the name that God gave you, should remind you of this. You are a son, a daughter, a prince, a princess of God Almighty.

    I’ve read just the first volume of the Twilight’s series, but i’ve seen the movie parts. I couldn’t watch it without noticing obvious subliminal intentions that they try to put in to twist teen and even adults minds with the purpose of turning them away from the only truth that gives ethernal life and everlasting love. I may seem fanatical about religion, but you see? Religion is nothing but a creation of devil. I’m not a religious man. It’s much more than this. It’s called personal relationship with Jesus Christ. I don’t care if you’re a Baptist, a Penticostal, an Adventist, a Chatolic, an Orthodox etc., as long as you tell me you’re a believer in Jesus Christ and follower of His will.

    Thanks for letting me share my thoughts on this. Take care. 😉 😀


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

